Minutes of the Burrillville Budget board held Thursday, March 10, 2016 at 6:30 P.M. at the Town Building, 105 Harrisville Main Street, Harrisville, RI.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Arthur R. Hurley, Dennis Anderson, Judy Aubin, Nathan St. Pierre, Robert Tetreault and alternate members Karen Francisco and Tom Rambacher (non-voting members).

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

OTHERS PRESENT: Treasurer Mark A. Adams and Deputy Treasurer Rose Doughty

1. <u>VOTED</u> to approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on March 3, 2016; and dispense with the reading of said minutes.

Motion by Judy Aubin. Seconded by Dennis Anderson. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

2. Consider and act on Town Budgets:

- Deliberate and act on Department Operating Budget Requests
 - Meet with Town Manager to discuss operating budget

Town Manager Michael C. Wood met with the Budget Board to discuss budget requests and expected revenue for fiscal 2017. Mr. Wood explained expected changes in revenue due to the settlement with TransCanada and new projects coming onto the tax rolls. Mr. Wood thanked the Board for their efforts and diligence in preparing their budget recommendations.

VOTED to recommend \$46,000 for Elected Officials.

Motion by Dennis Anderson. Seconded by Nathan St. Pierre. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

VOTED to fund the Town Manager's budget at \$207,150.

Motion by Robert Tetreault. Seconded by Dennis Anderson. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

VOTED to support Benefits at \$2,225,365.

Motion by Nathan St. Pierre. Seconded by Dennis Anderson. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

VOTED to recommend a budget of \$147,700 for Professional Services.

Motion by Nathan St. Pierre. Seconded by Robert Tetreault. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

VOTED to reduce Tipping Fees to \$140,000 per the Director of Public Works.

Motion by Nathan St. Pierre. Seconded by Dennis Anderson. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

VOTED to recommend a General Services budget of \$1,436,905.

Motion by Robert Tetreault. Seconded by Judy Aubin. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

VOTED to recommend a total budget of 1,375,464 for Public Works.

Motion by Judy Aubin. Seconded by Robert Tetreault. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

VOTED to recommend a total Recreation Department budget of \$102,603.

Motion by Dennis Anderson. Seconded by Robert Tetreault. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

VOTED to support \$541,852 for General Government Bonds.

Motion by Judy Aubin. Seconded by Dennis Anderson. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

VOTED to recommend budget of \$904,368 for Sewer Bonds.

Motion by Judy Aubin. Seconded by Robert Tetreault. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

VOTED to allocate \$839,176 for Refunding Bonds.

Motion by Nathan St. Pierre. Seconded by Dennis Anderson. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

VOTED to recommend Bond Fees in the amount of \$2,000.

Motion by Dennis Anderson. Seconded by Robert Tetreault. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

VOTED to recommend a budget of \$79,241 for Loans.

Motion by Dennis Anderson. Seconded by Robert Tetreault. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

• Deliberate and act on School Department Budget Requests

There was discussion of the maintenance of effort for 2017; the level of funding increases given in the past several years; the financial position of the town due to reduction of debt payments; expected increase of revenue due to new projects being added to the tax rolls and possible reduction in State Aid.

MOTION to recommend a School Department budget of \$31,592,499, which represents an increase of \$762,500 over last year.

Motion by Nathan St. Pierre. Seconded by Dennis Anderson.

AMENDED MOTION to recommend a School Department budget of \$31,592,500.

Motion by Nathan St. Pierre. Seconded by Dennis Anderson. The motion carried, four in favor, one opposed. Voting in favor of the motion were Arthur R. Hurley, Dennis Anderson, Nathan St. Pierre and Robert Tetreault. Judy Aubin voted in opposition.

- **3.** Other Business: None
- **4. VOTED** to adjourn at 8:52 p.m.

Motion by Nathan St. Pierre. Seconded by Judy Aubin. The vote was unanimous by the five members present.

Judy Aubin, Secretary	
Minutes Approved	Date: