Marriage Licenses

How to get a marriage license
Both people must apply for the license in person and sign the application

Rhode Island residents
If both applicants live in Rhode Island, apply for the license in the city or town of the residence of either applicant. The marriage license is valid in any city or town in Rhode Island and the couple may be married anywhere in Rhode Island.

If one applicant lives in Rhode Island the license should be issued from the city or town of residence of that applicant.

If neither applicant lives in Rhode Island, the marriage license must be obtained in the city or town where the ceremony will take place. Rhode Island law states that the marriage license is valid only in the city or town in which it was issued. If the ceremony is performed in a city or town other than where it was issued, the validity of the marriage may be in question.

Provide required identification and legal documents
Both partners are responsible for presenting:

  • Proof of birth facts (preferably a certified copy of the birth certificate) and a valid form of identification. If you do not have a certified copy of your birth certificates, please call the Town Clerk's office at (401) 568-4300, Ext. "0" to find out if the State of Rhode Island recognizes the document you plan to present as an accepted proof of birth facts.
  • If previously married or in a civil union, a certified copy of the final decree of divorce or dissolution of the civil union (with the raised or original stamped court seal), or a certified copy of the death certificate of the previous spouse/partner.

Permit to Marry for Minors and Persons Under Legal Guardianship
A Permit to Marry (VS 10) must be completed if either applicant is 16 or 17 years of age or under control of a legal guardian. The permit should be signed and notarized in the presence of the city or town clerk, or any clerk employed in that office. If this is not possible, please contact the Division of Vital Records for instructions.

Applicants under the age of 16 cannot get a marriage license in the state of Rhode Island without the approval of Family Court.

Pay for the license
Marriage licenses cost $24.